We Hear That

OV.org Community News PHYSICS TODAY HOME | JOBS | BUYERS GUIDE | EVENT CALENDAR

« Richard Bond is the 2008 Gruber Cosmology Prize Recipient | We Hear That home | Gregory Good is the new director of the AIP History Center »

Abishek Dhar and Zhong Fang Win the 2008 ICTP Prize

iysics

Trieste, June 16, 2008 - The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) takes pleasure in announcing the award of the 2008 ICTP Prize in honour of Pierre-Gilles de Gennes jointly to Professor Abhishek Dhar, Theoretical Physics Group, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore, India, and to Professor Zhong Fang, Center for Quantum Simulation Sciences, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, People's Republic of China.

Abhishek Dhar is being honoured for "his outstanding contributions to non-equilibrium statistical mechanics of transport and fluctuation phenomena, classical as well as quantum mechanical. His exact and insightful results have clarified subtle issues, and corrected several misconceptions, specially about heat conduction."

Zhong Fang is being recognized for "his theoretical and computational work on the origin of anomalous Hall effect and for his significant contributions to the understanding of spin and orbital physics in transition metal oxides."

The ICTP Prize was established in 1982 to recognize outstanding and original contributions of young scientists, no more than forty years of age, working in developing countries. The prize is awarded annually in honour of an eminent scientist and includes a sculpture, certificate and cash award.

Pierre-Gilles de Gennes (1932-2007), in whose honour the 2008 ICTP Prize is being awarded, was one of the most influential theoretical physicists of his time. His work spanned a wide variety of subjects in condensed matter theory and statistical physics. He was awarded

the 1991 Nobel Prize in Physics "for discovering that methods developed for studying order phenomena in simple systems can be generalized to more complex forms of matter, in particular to liquid crystals and polymer".

For additional information, see: http://prizes.ictp.it/prizes/Prize

Posted by Physics Today on June 16, 2008 12:03 PM | Permalink

TRACKBACK

TrackBack URL for this entry: http://blogs.physicstoday.org/mt/mt-tb.cgi/2423

SEARCH



CATEGORIES

- AVS: Science & Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing (AVS)
- <u>Acoustical Society of America</u>
 (ASA) American Association of
- Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) American Association of
- Physics Teachers (AAPT) American Astronomical
- Society (AAS) American Crystallographic
- Association (ACA) <u>American Geophysical Union</u>
 (AGU)
- American Physical Society (APS)
- Optical Society of America (OSA)
- Other
- Sigma Pi Sigma
- Society of Physics Students

ARCHIVES

- June 2008
- May 2008
- April 2008
- March 2008
- February 2008
- January 2008
- December 2007
- November 2007
- October 2007
- September 2007
- August 2007
- July 2007
- June 2007
- May 2007

• April 2007

- February 2007
- January 2007
- December 2006
- November 2006
- October 2006
- September 2006
- August 2006
- July 2006

Help the physics community displaced by

Physics and Astronomy Community Bulletin Board

U.S. Department of Energy Temporary

Educational Matching Program

Katrina: Katrina Affected

Request product info

COMPANY SPOTLIGHT

For Online Advertising Opportunities Click Here

- Society of Rheology (SoR)

- American Insititute of Physics
 (AIP)

POST A COMMENT

(If you haven't left a comment here before, owner before your comment will appear. Un for waiting.)	you may need to be approved by the site til then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks
Name:	
Email Address:	

URL:

Remember personal info?

Comments: (you may use HTML tags for style)

RECENT POSTS

- Gregory Good is the new director of the AIP History Center
- Abishek Dhar and Zhong Fang Win the 2008 ICTP Prize
- <u>Richard Bond is the 2008</u> Gruber Cosmology Prize Recipient
- American Nuclear Society Honors Two Fellows
- Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2008
- EPA Scientists Recognized with Prestigious Honor
- Mike Lazaridis Donates Additional \$50 Million to Perimeter Institute
- Arkani-Hamed wins Sackler
 prize in the physical sciences
- Scitopia search engine adds six new content partners
- Inaugural Kavli prize winners
 announced

Subscribe to Physics Today -We Hear That What is this?

Before submitting your comment, please enter the security code displayed below; this prevents spambots from hijacking The We Hear That blog. (If you submit a comment without entering the security code, you will see a "Comment Submission Error" message; please use your back button to go back, enter the code, and re-submit your comment).

Security Code:

891			
001	100	1.1	

Preview Post

<u>Contact us</u> | <u>About Physics Today</u> | <u>Privacy Policy</u> | <u>Terms & Conditions</u> <u>Copyright</u> © 2008 by the <u>American Institute of Physics</u> <u>All rights reserved</u>